

### KILBIRNIE, RONGOTAI AND LYALL BAY BUSINESS ASSOCIATION 2021/22 Annual General Meeting Tuesday 25<sup>th</sup> September 2022 at The Brentwood Hotel

## **Minutes**

6 – 6.30pm Members arrived and mingled, light snacks and beverages were served.

Attendees: Jo Morris (Wellington Sewing Centre), Bill McDonald (Jarvis McDonald Group), Bruce Welsh (Rimu Architects), Binay & Pooja Jagat (Bottle-O), Ken & Frances Ah Kuoi (Ah Kuoi Law), Mary-Lou Keil, Graeme Buchanan, Galu Letiu (Fair & Square Building Services), Jane Fahy (Real Aotearoa), Nannette Dempsey (Wellington Airport), Nathan Meyer (Carrello del Gelato), Rito Triumbarto (Wellington Islamic Centre), Alex Terris (Kiwi Self-Storage), Bo Chhiba (Chhiba Investment Trust), Richard Dalby (Wellington Airport), Sean Woods (Property Investor), Steph Edlin, Eyal Aharoni (Prime Property Group)

**Also in attendance:** Rula Awad (WCC), John Allen (Wellington NZ) Susie Jones (KRL Business Association),

#### 6.30pm Guest speaker

Jo Morris welcomed all in attendance and introduced John Allen from WellingtonNZ who spoke on a number of topics related to Wellington, Kilbirnie, Rongotai and Lyall Bay. A summary of his comments can be found at the end of these minutes.

#### 6.45pm AGM Commenced

1. Apologies

Apologies were received from: Dean Galt, Anthony Dey, Andrew Black, Bronwyn Kelly, Catherine Devey, Catherine Roberts, Derek Devey, Masina Kenworthy, Kathryn Lawlor.

#### <u>Resolved</u>: That the apologies be accepted

Moved: Jo Morris Seconded: Bruce Welsh

It was noted that all AGM documents have been available on our website for some time and are also available this evening.

 Confirmation of Minutes from 2021 AGM It was noted that the Minutes from the 2021 AGM of 29<sup>th</sup> September 2021 have been tabled and are available to members.

<u>Resolved:</u> That the minutes of the 2021 AGM held Wednesday 29 September 2021 be accepted as a true and correct record Moved: Sean Woods Seconded: Ken Ah Kuoi 3. Chairperson's report and Annual Report for 2021/22 Jo gave her verbal report.

# <u>Resolved</u>: That the Chairperson's verbal Report and Annual Report for 2021/22 be received

Moved: Bruce Welsh Seconded: Richard Dalby

4. Adoption of Accounts for year ended 30 June 2022 It was noted that the accounts for year ended 30 June 2022 have been tabled.

Resolved: That the accounts for year ended 30 June 2022 be received. Moved: Bruce Welsh Seconded: Ken Ah Kuoi

5. Adoption of proposed Budget for 2022/23 (part of the 2022/23 Business Plan) It was noted that it is an annual requirement of Council to confirm a draft budget for the following financial year. Note that there is no increase to the current BID targeted rate of \$150,000 for 2022/23.

<u>Resolved</u>: That the proposed Budget for 2022 /23 be adopted Moved: Ken Ah Kuoi Seconded: Alex Terris

- Adoption of proposed Strategic Plan for 2022 2027
   <u>Resolved</u>: That the proposed Strategic Plan for 2022 2027 be adopted Moved: Sean Woods Seconded: Ken Ah Kuoi
- Appointment of auditor
   <u>Resolved</u>: That William Buck be appointed as auditor for year ended 30 June 2023
   Moved: Jo Morris Seconded: Bruce Welsh
- Election of Executive Committee Members
   At the close of nominations, nominations had been received from the following people:
   Dean Galt, Richard Dalby, Ken Ah Kuoi, Galu Letiu, Binay Jagat, Alex Terris, Sean Woods, Bruce Welsh and Jo Morris.

As there are an equal number of nominations as positions available, these nine members were declared elected as KRL Business Association Committee members for 2022/23.

Recognising retiring Committee members - Jo thanked Jane Fahy and Angela Slaughter for their support during 2021.

It was also noted that the committee can co-opt two more non-voting members onto the Committee.

9. General Business - Nil

#### Meeting closed at 7.45pm